Block someone's Facebook profile, Page, or nickname

Copy link
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
Facebook Lite App Help
Once you block a profile or Page, certain actions will be limited, such as interacting with each other's timelines, posts, comments or messages. This doesn't include apps, games or groups you both participate in. If you currently are connected with that profile or Page, blocking it will unfriend, unlike and unfollow it.
Once you block a nickname in a Facebook group, that nickname’s ability to interact with your group content will be limited.
If you have additional Facebook profiles, you’ll need to manage blocking from each of your profiles separately.
You can learn more about how to unblock a profile or Page.

Block a profile or Page

To block someone on Facebook:
  1. Go to their Profile or Page.
  2. Click Options (or More).
  3. Click Block, then confirm that you want to block them by clicking Confirm.
You can also block someone by going to Settings & Privacy > Settings > Blocking and typing their name.
Note: The Block option is no longer available directly from the post menu in Feed. You can still block someone from their profile or through your Settings.
You can also block a profile or Page by going to your Blocking settings:
  1. Click your profile picture in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Select Settings & privacy, then click Settings.
  3. In the menu, click Blocking under Audience and visibility.
  4. In the Block profiles and Pages section, click Edit.
  5. Click Add to blocked list.
  6. Type the name of the profile or Page you want to block.
  7. Click Block next to their name.
  8. Click Confirm.
Note: If you're having trouble finding the profile you want to block, you can try using an email associated with the Facebook profile.

Block a nickname in a Facebook group

  1. Find a post or comment from the nickname you want to block.
  2. Click on the nickname or the nickname’s profile photo.
  3. Next to the nickname on its group profile page, click Options.
  4. Click Block [Nickname], then confirm that you want to block them by clicking Block.
    • Note: Blocking a nickname in a group only blocks that nickname and doesn’t block the main profile associated with that nickname.

What happens when you block a profile or Page

When you block a profile or Page, that profile or Page won't be able to:
  • See your posts.
  • Tag you in posts, comments, or photos.
  • Invite you to events or groups.
  • Start a conversation with you.
  • Add you as a friend.

What happens when I block a nickname in a group?

When you block a nickname in a group, that nickname won't be able to:
  • Tag you in posts or comments in the group.
  • Interact with your content in the group.
In some cases, they may still be able to see your content. When you block a nickname in a group, you won’t see any posts or comments from the nickname in that group. You may still see content from that nickname in other groups.

Other things to consider when you block a profile

Remember that blocking someone may not prevent all communications or interactions (example: in apps or groups). Learn more about what you can see when you block someone’s profile.

When you block someone who has more than one profile

  • Blocking one of their profiles only blocks that profile. It doesn’t block their other profiles. This means that you may still interact with their other profiles.
    • For example, you may start a conversation with those other profiles or add them as a friend.
  • When you block someone's profile, this will limit some of the ways they can interact with you from their other profiles.

When you block someone who has more than one nickname

Blocking one of their nicknames only blocks that nickname. It doesn’t block the main profile associated with the nickname or the other nicknames associated with that main profile. This means that you may still see content from these other nicknames or the main profile associated with them.

Remember these things

  • If you block a profile and then unblock it, you'll need to send that profile a new friend request. If you block a Page and then unblock it, you'll need to follow that Page again.
  • Profiles, Pages, and nicknames won't be notified when you block them.

Yes
No

Other ways to get help

Chat with Meta AI support assistant
Resolve issues, make changes and get support in real time