Manage the privacy settings for third-party apps you connected to Facebook

Copy link
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
Facebook Lite App Help
Third-party apps include any apps, websites and games that you log into with Facebook or connect to your Facebook account. Third-party apps can be active, removed or expired depending on the type of application and how often you use it.

Information that an app, website or game can access on Facebook

Some information about you is part of your public profile or is information you’ve made public. An app, website or game can access this public information at any time. Other information is not public and an app, website or game can access it only if you choose to share it with the app, website or game when you log in with your Facebook account.
To help third-party apps comply with applicable laws and regulations concerning teens, we may share information about your age category (example: whether you are under 18) with third-party app and game developers on our platform.
An app, website or game can be:
  • Active: If it appears that you have used a third-party app, website or game within the last 90 days, it may access any information on Facebook that you’ve shared with it at any time.
  • Expired: After 90 days of inactivity, an app's access to non-public information expires. It may still have non-public information you previously shared with it while it was active. There are a couple of exceptions:
    • We only expire access to information you can make non-public on your Facebook account. Certain information that is always public on Facebook, like your name and profile picture, can still be accessed after 90 days of inactivity. This information is publicly accessible to everyone, and an app, website or game can access this information even if you’re not an active user.
    • Some apps and websites have permissions that are used to monitor or manage information on Facebook business products, like Pages, groups, ads and messages. Apps and websites with these permissions are called Business Integrations. We do not expire these permissions after 90 days of inactivity because they may need to access these products continuously (even if you haven’t logged into the app or website recently).
  • Removed: When you remove an app, website or game, or the app developer has made an app unavailable for you, it can only access public information on your Facebook account. Remember that:
    • The app, website or game may have stored information from when you were using it.
    • Removing the app, website or game only prevents it from continuing to access your non-public information through Facebook.

Keep in mind

  • If you start using an app, website or game again after 90 days of inactivity, it may become active again and can access the non-public information you previously chose to share with it.
  • An app, website or game may ask you for permission to continue accessing your non-public information after its access has expired. You can approve or deny its request directly or by updating your Facebook settings at any time.
  • We aren't always able to tell when you haven't used an app, website or game for 90 days, so we may sometimes stop an app, website or game from accessing your non-public information, even if you’ve used it in the past 90 days.
Visit the Instagram Help Center to learn more about how long apps and websites you’ve added have access to your information on Instagram.

Yes
No

Other ways to get help

Chat with Meta AI support assistant
Resolve issues, make changes and get support in real time