What to do if something was shared with the wrong person

If something was shared to the wrong person or group by mistake, we can help you manage what was shared.

Facebook

Activity log
Review and manage what you’ve shared on Facebook in your activity log.

Instagram

Hide story
If you don't want someone to see your story, you can hide your story from them.

Unsend a message
Learn what to do if you shared a message with the wrong person.

Messenger

Unsend a message
Learn what to do if you shared a message with the wrong person.

Privacy Center

  • Privacy Center home
  • Search
  • Privacy topics
  • More privacy resources
  • Privacy Policy
  • Other policies and articles
  • Settings

A hand is holding a phone. There are party decorations in the background. On the phone are two people holding a cake.
Audience

Make sure you’re sharing only with the people you want to

You can choose to share different things with different people, whether that's a big group or just your closest friends.
Review your sharing settings
How to clean up your profile

What to do if something was shared with the wrong person

Unknown friend requests and followers

Learn more in the Privacy Policy

How is your information shared on Meta Products or with Integrated Partners?
Privacy Policy

More resources

Manage apps and websites
Facebook

Manage apps and websites
Instagram